Hate me as much as you want because I really don’t care. 

I stopped caring the moment you wanted me to change. 

I asked…Why can’t you accept me the way I am? I want to be me..not someone else’s because I cannot pretend to be someone else.

But I continued to live…

I stopped caring the moment you told me that “Saree should be your only attire.”

I asked…why only saree? Why not only jeans or short skirt? No matter what I wear..It will be the same “Me”

But I continued to drape the 9meters….

I stopped caring the moment you told me,

“You are the pride of our family, and our pride lies in your ghoonghat.”

I asked….Why can’t your pride lie on my career or my accolades or my achievements??

But I continued to watch my dreams getting crushed…

I stopped caring the moment you told me, “Start eating spicy food because we hate the bland ones.”

I asked…Can’t we add a little less spice so that we all can eat happily? 

But I continued to cry while eating…

I stopped caring the moment you told me, “The girls in our family don’t go out to work.”

I asked….Why? Why can’t the girls work? Their parents have spent somewhat equal amount of energy and money on their education. And I also had put in equal effort on my education as your son.

But I continued to shove my degrees into the old trunk….

I stopped caring the moment you told me, “Be home by 7pm. Otherwise your father in law will get angry. Acche ghar ki betiyan raat ko der se nahi aati.” 

I asked…But, how can your sons enjoy late night parties? Ain’t they also the part of the family’s pride?

But I continued to follow the clock….

I stopped caring the moment you told me, “Please adjust…I love you na…please adjust for my sake.” 

I asked….what about me? I love you too..Why can’t you adjust to my ways?

But I continued to love you the way you are…

I stopped caring the moment you told me women are inferior to men.

I asked….Can a single man in your family deliver a child? Can a single man in your family multitask like a woman??

But by now I was fully aware of your miserable mind….

I stopped caring the moment you bribed the doctor to know the gender of the life growing inside me.

That day…I was speechless….because the last straw was finally drawn.

I stopped caring the moment you decided to abort the girl growing inside me.

That day..I didn’t ask..I just left that forlorn place in search of a little peace, a little compassion, a little humility, a little equality. 

That day I understood, not everyone likes me… but not everyone matters. But the life growing inside me is the only thing that really matters. And that life will be given it’s full chance to live.

Hate me as much as you want because now I have learnt to live my life on my terms and conditions.